Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Emory & Henry Women's Tennis Earns #6 Seed For ODAC Tournament

2019 ODAC Tennis Tournament logo

FOREST, Va. – By virtue of its sixth-place finish during the regular season, the Emory & Henry College Women's Tennis Team has picked up the #6 seed for the upcoming Old Dominion Athletic Conference Tournament, ODAC officials announced late Sunday night. The Wasps reach the postseason for the second time in three years and the seventh time since the conference went to a team dual championship format in 2007.

RELATED – Tournament Website | Interactive Bracket

E&H finished in a three-way tie for sixth place which could not be broken by the first three tiebreakers used by the league. ODAC officials went to the predetermined lots drawn every year during the summer meetings to break the tie with Emory & Henry earning the #6 seed, Bridgewater College as the seventh seed and Virginia Wesleyan University rounding out the field in eighth.

The Wasps (14-6) posted its best record in the dual-match championship era of women's tennis and won six league matches for the second time in three years. E&H will take on third-seeded Randolph-Macon College in the tournament quarterfinals on Wednesday at 2:00 p.m. The Yellow Jackets defeated Emory & Henry by an 8-0 score on Sunday, March 3 in Ashland.

The winner of Wednesday's quarterfinal match will face off against the winner of #2 University of Lynchburg and #7 Bridgewater on Saturday, May 4 at Virginia Wesleyan. The ODAC title match will be on Sunday, May 5, also on the Virginia Beach, Virginia campus.


2019 ODAC Women's Tennis Tournament

Quarterfinals - Wedneday, May 1
Match 1: #8 Virginia Wesleyan at #1 Washington and Lee
Match 2:
#5 Roanoke at #4 Randolph
Match 3:
#7 Bridgewater at #2 Lynchburg
Match 4:
#6 Emory & Henry at #3 Randolph-Macon - 2:00 p.m.

Semifinals - Saturday, May 4 - at Virginia Beach, Virginia (Virginia Wesleyan)
Match 5:
Winner Match 1 vs. Winner Match 2 – 1:30 p.m.
Match 6:
Winner Match 3 vs. Winner Match 4 – 4:00 p.m.

Championship - Sunday, May 5 - at Virginia Beach, Virginia (Virginia Wesleyan)
Match 7:
Semifinal Winners – 1:00 p.m.