Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Emory & Henry Men’s Soccer Places A Pair On All-ODAC Teams

Emory & Henry Men’s Soccer Places A Pair On All-ODAC Teams

FOREST, Va. – After its best league performance since 2001, the Emory & Henry College Men's Soccer Team has been recognized with two players on the All-Old Dominion Athletic Conference Teams, ODAC officials announced Thursday. The teams were voted on by the 12 head coaches in the conference.

Sophomore forward Jordan Couch (Abingdon, Va.) earned All-ODAC Second-Team accolades while freshman forward Tyequis Stallins (Chesapeake, Va.) was tabbed as a third team all-conference player.

It is the first time since the 2008 season that an Emory & Henry player has received ODAC postseason honors. Then-sophomore P.J. Henson scored 13 goals to finish fourth overall in the league for the season and was tabbed to the All-ODAC Second Team.

Couch led the team in all offensive categories including goals (six), assists (four), points (16), shots (39), shots on goal (19) and match-winning goals (two).  The ODAC Men's Soccer Player of the Week for October 12, Couch had a pair of multi-goal matches including two scores in a 3-2 home win against Guilford College on October 7. He also scored two goals and added an assist against the University of Valley Forge (Sept. 11).

Stallins was second on the squad with five goals and three assists for 13 points. He also was the runner-up on the team with 20 shots, including 17 on goal. He added the match-winner against Cairn University (Sept. 12) and converted a penalty kick against Randolph-Macon College (Sept. 26). Stallins was tabbed as the ODAC Men's Soccer Player of the Week on September 14 after two goals against Valley Forge. He became the first player in over six year to earn conference player of the week accolades.

Emory & Henry increased its win total for a second year in a row, notching a 4-10-3 overall record with a pair of wins and two draws against ODAC competition. The eight points earned by the Wasps from conference matches is the most since 2001 when E&H won three matches and tied another. It is also the fourth-best conference result in program history while the Wasps' three-match unbeaten streak in league games was the first of its kind since 1996 and only the fourth in school history.

League champion Washington and Lee University saw Ben Bales named ODAC Player of the Year while the Generals' coach, Mike Singleton, was tabbed as ODAC Coach of the Year. The ODAC Rookie of the Year was Ricky Perrault of Virginia Wesleyan College and Hampden-Sydney College's Robert Kerby was voted as the ODAC/Virginia Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Scholar-Athlete.



Player of the Year: Ben Bayles, Sr., M, Washington and Lee
Coach of the Year: Mike Singleton, Washington and Lee
Rookie of the Year: Ricky Perrault, Fr., F, Virginia Wesleyan
ODAC/Virginia Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete: Robert Kerby, Jr., F, Hampden-Sydney

Juan Luna Jr. Eastern Mennonite
Fredy Flores So. Lynchburg
Troy Jurney Jr. Randolph
Rob Lentine Sr. Roanoke
Blake Heatherly Jr. Randolph
Tyler Carbaugh Sr. Roanoke
Fortune Sibanda So. Roanoke
Ben Bayles Sr. Washington and Lee
Nate Berning So. Lynchburg
Cristian Irigoyen So. Randolph
Dio Beck Sr. Roanoke
Patrick Barry Jr. Washington and Lee
Gillen Beck So. Washington and Lee
Jordan Couch Fr. Emory & Henry
Travis Brown So. Randolph
Ricky Perrault Fr. Virginia Wesleyan
Dylan Ritch Fr. Washington and Lee
Logan McGlynn Sr. Bridgewater
Dan Jobrack Sr. Lynchburg
Logan McHugh Jr. Randolph-Macon
Will Hamryka Fr. Washington and Lee
Kevin Gidari Sr. Bridgewater
Emmanuel Boamah Fr. Eastern Mennonite
Jack Maxey Jr. Randolph-Macon
Sam Rauf So. Roanoke
Cole Sinclair Sr. Roanoke
Connor Henderson So. Bridgewater
Tyequis Stallins Fr. Emory & Henry
Ben Grossfuss Jr. Lynchburg
Bryan Lutz So. Randolph-Macon
Costin Gregory Sr. Hampden-Sydney
Earl Rimbey Sr. Lynchburg
Nate Long Jr. Shenandoah
Josh Kemp Sr. Virginia Wesleyan
Greg Noordanus Sr. Randolph-Macon
Tim Mahabir Jr. Roanoke
Andrew Freeman Fr. Virginia Wesleyan
Cary Carabasi Sr. Washington and Lee
Nathan Gibson Fr. Washington and Lee
Cory Budka Jr. Lynchburg

-photo courtesy of Caleb Johnston, E&H '15