Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Emory & Henry Football Sees Four Named To The NFF's Hampshire Honor Society

Hampshire Honor Society logo.

IRVING, Texas – The Emory & Henry College Football Team has seen four of its players chosen to the National Football Foundation's Hampshire Honor Society. Across all Old Dominion Athletic Conference schools, 19 different players were honored, with Washington and Lee University's eight selections leading the way. The Wasps have seen 32 players recognized across the past eight seasons.

Offensive lineman Connor Christian (Arvonia, Va.), defensive lineman Brodyn Huddleston (Riner, Va.), defensive lineman Levi Peters (Hot Springs, Va.) and wide receiver Jesse Santiago (Yorktown, Va.) were picked to represent E&H in the society. Each player will receive a certificate in acknowledgement of their accomplishments both on the field and in the classroom.

RELATED: Official NFF Release | 2019 Hampshire Honor Society Members

"We are pleased to see another record number of athletes honored by the Hampshire Honor Society this year," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "For more than a decade, it has become a powerful vehicle for schools to recognize their college football players who have distinguished themselves both academically and athletically, and we congratulate the schools and each of these young men for their commitment to excellence in all aspects of their lives."

The Hampshire Honor Society was established in 2007 by the National Football Foundation to honor college football players from all divisions who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college career. A total of 1,643 players from 424 schools qualified for membership in the society's 13th year, setting records for both individuals and programs represented. The player must have also been a starter or significant substitute in their senior season to be eligible for the award.

"We have honored more than 10,000 student-athletes in the last 13 years thanks to Jon Hanson's generosity," said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, "We are grateful for his passionate belief in the scholar-athlete ideal, and the Hampshire Honor Society allows us to showcase the names of tomorrow's leaders while inspiring future generations to follow in their footsteps."

The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame, Play It Smart, the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association, and the NFF Scholar-Athlete Awards which have awarded scholarships exceeding $11.5 million since their inception to top scholars and community leaders.