Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Emory & Henry Football Receives Three All-State Recognitions From VaSID

E&H Football saw three players named All-State by VaSID.

BRIDGEWATER, Va. – The Emory & Henry College Football Team has seen three of its players named all-state by the Virginia Sports Information Directors, VaSID officials announced Thursday. The Wasps went 3-7 on the year in 2017 and saw 12 players named to the All-Old Dominion Athletic Conference teams.

Leading the way on the All-State College Division First Team was junior defensive lineman Josh Fleenor (Christiansburg, Va.), who last week was named to the All-South Region Third Team in addition to All-ODAC First-Team accolades.

Junior offensive lineman Nathan Harris (Roanoke, Va.) and sophomore wide receiver Derrick Yates (Abingdon, Va.) brought home All-State Second-Team honors after playing their way onto the all-league second team.

Cam Johnson of Hampden-Sydney College was the Offensive Player of the Year while Max Garrett of Washington and Lee University was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year. Rookie of the Year honors went to W&L's Josh Breece (Offensive) and Bridgewater College's Rashad Wood (Defensive). Scott Abell honored as Coach of the Year, leading the Generals to an ODAC title and the NCAA Division III Playoffs.

The VaSID All-State teams are selected by sports information directors of member institutions of the Virginia Sports Information Directors across the Commonwealth of Virginia. VaSID, founded in 1983, selects teams in two divisions (University and College) for 12 sports and three single-division teams in addition to Academic All-State teams across all sports.




Offensive Player of the Year: Cam Johnson, Hampden-Sydney
Defensive Player of the Year: Max Garrett, Washington and Lee
Offensive Rookie of the Year: Josh Breece, Washington and Lee
Defensive Rookie of the Year: Rashad Wood, Bridgewater
Coach of the Year: Scott Abell, Washington and Lee

All-State First Team


All-State Second Team

Offense   Offense
QB- Hayden Bauserman, Shenandoah   QB- Alec Cobb, Hampden-Sydney
RB- Josh Breece, Washington and Lee   RB- Sean Bowman, Averett 
RB- Brian Mann, Ferrum    RB- Tre Frederick, Randolph-Macon
WR- Michael Ashwell, Shenandoah   WR- Major Morgan, Hampden-Sydney
WR- Cam Johnson, Hampden-Sydney   WR- Derrick Yates, Emory & Henry
TE- Patrick Kline, Hampden-Sydney   TE- Danny Mattson, Christopher Newport
OL- Greg Castle, Randolph-Macon   OL- Andrew Coffman, Shenandoah
OL- Wilson Gregory, Averett   OL- Nathan Harris, Emory & Henry
OL- Jay Hausler, Randolph-Macon   OL- Jordan Patti, Ferrum
OL- Mitch Hornsby, Washington and Lee   OL- Matt Rittenhouse, Christopher Newport
OL- Chris Osier, Washington and Lee    OL- Wesley Spencer, Hampden-Sydney
Defense   Defense
DL- Kenneth Covington, Averett   DL- Chris Coggins, Christopher Newport 
DL- Joe Everette, Hampden-Sydney   DL- Chris Grady, Shenandoah
DL- Josh Fleenor, Emory & Henry   DL- Al Matthews, Ferrum
DL- Montel Lee, Ferrum   DL- Jake Pinkston, Randolph-Macon
LB- Dejon Brooks, Averett   LB- Yonis Blanco, Randolph-Macon
LB- Max Garrett, Washington and Lee    LB- Griffin Davis, Hampden-Sydney
LB- Brennan Gary, Christopher Newport    LB- Donavan Montague, UVA-Wise
CB- Justus Drakeford, Christopher Newport   CB- Tyriek Able, Averett 
CB- Tyrell Noel, Christopher Newport   CB- Isaac Evans, Bridgewater
S- Sterling Hammond, Virginia Union   S- Kendall Blankenship, Hampden-Sydney
S- Nate Hill, Shenandoah   S- Neil Davis, Southern Virginia
Specialists   Specialists
PK- Cole Westberry, Averett   PK- Jacob Newton, Shenandoah
P- Julian Drew, Randolph-Macon   P- Cole Westberry, Averett
RS- Marquis Hamilton, UVA-Wise   RS- Jalen Hudson, Shenandoah