Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Emory & Henry Baseball Sees Two Named To The All-ODAC Teams

Ben Sexton swings on a pitch.

SALEM, Va. – Two players from the Emory & Henry College Baseball Team have received All-Old Dominion Athletic Conference honors, ODAC officials announced Friday. The announcement comes in conjunction with the start of the final four round of the 2019 ODAC Baseball Tournament at Salem Memorial Ballpark.

Senior outfielder Ben Sexton (Lebanon, Va.) was named to the all-league first team while junior designated hitter Corbin Hockensmith (Huntersville, N.C.) was picked to the third team. Sexton earns his third All-ODAC selection in a row after being chosen to the third team the past two seasons.

Sexton led the Wasps in many offensive categories with a .350 batting average. He posted a team-best 13 doubles and five home runs with a total of 50 hits and 29 runs scored. He notched a .400 on-base percentage and a .559 slugging average. He reached base safely in the first 14 games of the season, starting the year with a 10-game hitting streak. Sexton put up 13 multi-hit games during the 2019 campaign.

Hockensmith recorded the team's best batting (.387) and on-base (.418) averages as he had 34 base hits with four doubles at his designated hitter position. He scored eight runs and drove in 12 with 10 multi-hit games over the course of the year.  

Randolph-Macon College earned three of the five major awards with Mike Nickles being named ODAC Player of the Year. Nick Roth was tabbed as Pitcher of the Year while Yellow Jacket mentor Ray Hedrick was selected by his peers as Coach of the Year. University of Lynchburg's Garrett Jackson earned Rookie of the Year honors while Roanoke College's Jack Howard was selected by the league's sports information directors as the ODAC/Virginia Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete.


2019 All-ODAC Baseball Awards

ODAC Player of the Year: Mike Nickles | Jr. | 3B | Randolph-Macon
ODAC Pitcher of the Year: Nick Roth | Sr. | SP | Randolph-Macon
ODAC Coach of the Year: Ray Hedrick | Randolph-Macon
ODAC Rookie of the Year: Garrett Jackson | Fr. | 3B/P | Lynchburg
ODAC/Virginia Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete: Jack Howard | Sr. | 3B | Roanoke

Nick Roth SP Sr. Randolph-Macon
Michael Zubovich SP Jr. Randolph-Macon
Kevin Ledford RP So. Roanoke
Tim Ortega C Jr. Ferrum
Jordan McDonough 1B Sr. Virginia Wesleyan
Chase Counts 2B Jr. Hampden-Sydney
Mike Nickles 3B Jr. Randolph-Macon
Jacob Talley SS Jr. Bridgewater
Shawn Nickles OF Jr. Randolph-Macon
Ben Sexton OF Sr. Emory & Henry
Will Smith OF So. Roanoke
Matthew Spagnolo DH Jr. Hampden-Sydney
Jacob Pilarski UTL Jr. Virginia Wesleyan
Drew Calohan SP Jr. Ferrum
Hunter Campbell SP Jr. Lynchburg
Gerard DePhillips RP Jr. Shenandoah
Ray Tricarico C So. Eastern Mennonite
Tyler Blevins 1B Sr. Hampden-Sydney
Jeff Butler 2B Sr. Randolph-Macon
Kyle Anstice 3B Jr. Ferrum
Robert Marcelle SS Sr. Shenandoah
Jacob Bartlett OF Jr. Hampden-Sydney
Josh Greenway OF So. Ferrum
Jordan Jones OF Fr. Eastern Mennonite
Cameron Stanley DH Sr. Bridgewater
Mitchell Stumpo UTL Sr. Guilford
Connor Lutz SP Fr. Eastern Mennonite
Chase Mayberry SP Jr. Hampden-Sydney
Noah Collins RP Sr. Ferrum
Santiago Meneses RP So. Lynchburg
Gavin Kandrick C So. Roanoke
Nathaniel Anthony 1B Sr. Ferrum
Tristan Baker 2B Sr. Shenandoah
Jack Howard 3B Sr. Roanoke
Brady Fallon SS Sr. Virginia Wesleyan
Jaylon Lee OF So. Eastern Mennonite
Ryan Monson OF Jr. Washington and Lee
Keegan Woolford OF Jr. Shenandoah
Corbin Hockensmith DH Jr. Emory & Henry
Kinston Carson UTL Sr. Lynchburg