Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Erin Anderson, Ben Sexton Earn Department Of Athletics’ Top Honors For 2018-19

Graphic showing Erin Anderson (left) and Ben Sexton (right).

EMORY, Va. – The Emory & Henry College Department of Athletics has announced the winners of the annual Hall and Porterfield Memorial Awards. The awards were presented at the College's annual Awards Day on the afternoon of Sunday, April 14 in Memorial Chapel.

Senior softball centerfielder Erin Anderson (Aylett, Va.) received the Hall Memorial Award while senior baseball right fielder Ben Sexton (Lebanon, Va.) was honored with the Porterfield Memorial Award.

Anderson helped lead the softball team to two NCAA Division III Tournament appearances (2017, 2019) and a pair of ODAC Tournament Runner-Up finishes (2017, 2018). In 2018, Anderson was named the Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC)/Virginia Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete of the Year. She is also a two-time All-ODAC selection. This past season she had career-highs in runs batted in, walks, and fewest strikeouts.

The Hall Memorial Award was established in 1974 in memory of George A. Hall of Damascus, Virginia, father of Eleanor Hall Hutton, by his family. The award is presented by the Department of Athletics to an outstanding senior woman that has excelled in one or more sports and exemplifies the qualities of skill, leadership and character. 

Sexton earned his third All-ODAC selection this year, being named to the first team. He led the Wasps in many offensive categories with a .350 batting average, posting a team-best 13 doubles and five home runs with a total of 50 hits and 29 runs scored. Sexton notched a .400 on-base percentage and a .559 slugging average and reached base safely in the first 14 games of the season, starting the year with a 10-game hitting streak.

The Porterfield Memorial Award commemorates Thomas Lilburn Porterfield, who served as coach, athletic director, business manager and treasurer of Emory & Henry from 1938 to 1971. It recognizes a senior male for his individual athletic accomplishments combined with character, leadership, sportsmanship and contributions to the College community.