Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Emory & Henry Women’s Basketball Remains Second In South Region, Ranked No. 23 In The Nation

Bench cheering with NCAA, D3hoops and WBCA logos overlaid.

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. / PHILADELPHIA, Pa. – The Emory & Henry College Women's Basketball Team continues to receive regional and national attention as the latest round of rankings have been released.

The Wasps hold steady for a third week as the No. 2 team in the NCAA Division III South Region. This ranking, combined with automatic bids awarded to conference champions, is the official means of selecting and pairing participants for NCAA postseason tournaments.

RELATED – NCAA Division III South Region Rankings

The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor keeps its grip on the top spot in the region while the University of Texas-Dallas is third. Oglethorpe University moves up four spots to No. 4 this week while Emory University falls to fifth. Trinity (Texas) College is sixth and Austin College is seventh while Millsaps College and Guilford College round out the top nine, respectively.

Emory & Henry returns to the Poll at No. 23 after spending the previous five weeks just on the outside of the Top 25. The Wasps are also the No. 19-ranked team in Division III by the WBCA.

RELATED - Top 25 Poll | WBCA Top 25 Poll

Emory & Henry (22-3, 15-3 ODAC) has won 11 games in a row and 15 of its last 16 on the way to a second-place finish in the Old Dominion Athletic Conference this year. The second-seeded Wasps will face #7 Roanoke College on Friday at 6:00 p.m., in the ODAC Tournament Quarterfinals.

Friday's contest between E&H and RC will be their first postseason meeting since the championship game of the 2000 ODAC Tournament. In their only meeting of the regular season (Feb. 6), the Wasps defeated the Maroons by a 67-51 score at home.


NCAA Division III Women's Basketball
South Region Rankings 

1.  Mary Hardin-Baylor                                
2.  Emory & Henry *
3.  Texas-Dallas
4.  Oglethorpe
5.  Emory 
6.  Trinity (Texas)
7.  Austin
8.  Millsaps
9.  Guilford *

* denotes Old Dominion Athletic Conference school